Interview: Lauren Gibaldi, author of The Night We Said Yes

kmknujbnjmk

So, 2015 has begun.
All book bloggers, authors, librarians, publishers and other bookish people are mentally prepared, because this year is full of many new excellent books.
You can see my own list of these books here.

But today I want to talk about only one book.
And this book is The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi.

Just read this excellent summary:

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

And then look at this beautiful cover:

NightWeSaid_cvr for author (1)

And realize that this is exactly what you need in your life as I did.

So I went to ask Lauren Gibaldi to give me a short interview.
And she agreed.

Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome Lauren Gibaldi, the author of the aforementioned book!

1) Were there any funny stories while you worked on The Night We Said Yes? Or maybe, at that time, the book had a different name, which now makes you smile?

When I just had the idea behind the book, I called it “That Night.” But as soon as I started writing, I knew that title didn’t fit. I changed it to “The Night We Said Yes” almost immediately, which is a line in the book. To my delight, everyone at HarperCollins liked it enough to keep it!

2) What inspired you to write TNWSY?

I love the idea that one night can change everything, so I wanted to write that. I wanted to show a really fun/memorable, but also a meaningful night. And then I wanted to show what happens after – the consequences and changes.

3) Can you share your most favorite quote from your book? (If it’s too spoilery, then your favorite quote from another book).

Well, my favorite line is the last line, so I won’t share that. But my second favorite line is: “El, turn it up!” It’s the first line in chapter two. It’s really not an important or memorable line, but it was the very first sentence I wrote in the book, so to me, it means a lot.

4) How long did it take you to write your novel? What was easier to write: the beginning or the ending?

28 days! Crazy, right? I wrote it as part of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) so I had to finish it in one month. The beginning was much easier to write than the ending. I knew where I was starting…but not so sure where I was ending. But that also made the writing process fun.

5) Let’s talk about you. The description on your website says that you are working as an aerialist in a circus. And I am absolutely delighted by this. However, is it not too dangerous? How long did you study for this?

Yes! I was a circus aerialist while in college, about 10 years ago. My college had a circus, so of course I signed up. It was dangerous, yes (I have some permanent scars to prove it), but very much worth it. Nothing can compare to the feeling of flying through the air. Now I’m a librarian, which isn’t nearly as dangerous (but it’s still fun).

6) Happy New Year. For me, it’s true, because in this year many wonderful books come out. And what are your plans, wishes and joys regarding 2015 year?

Oh! I’m so nervous and excited for 2015. I can’t believe I can officially say my book will be released this year! My plans are to make the most of this year as possible. Make it memorable and fun. And hopefully not go too crazy.

As you can see, Lauren is a very nice person, and I was so happy to talk to her.

You can find her via

Website: laurengibaldi.com
E-mail: Lauren [dot] gibaldi [at] gmail [dot] com
Twitter: @laurengibaldi
Facebook: Lauren Gibaldi Author
Tumblr: Lauren the Librarian
Goodreads: Lauren Gibaldi

And add her debut book on Goodreads.

One thought on “Interview: Lauren Gibaldi, author of The Night We Said Yes

  1. Pingback: TNWSY Links! | Lauren Gibaldi

Leave a Reply

