Review: The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

15818969

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

I live in a world without magic or miracles. A place where there are no clairvoyants or shapeshifters, no angels or superhuman boys to save you. A place where people die and music disintegrates and things suck. I am pressed so hard against the earth by the weight of reality that some days I wonder how I am still able to lift my feet to walk.

Former piano prodigy Nastya Kashnikov wants two things: to get through high school without anyone learning about her past and to make the boy who took everything from her—her identity, her spirit, her will to live—pay.

Josh Bennett’s story is no secret: every person he loves has been taken from his life until, at seventeen years old, there is no one left. Now all he wants is be left alone and people allow it because when your name is synonymous with death, everyone tends to give you your space.

Everyone except Nastya, the mysterious new girl at school who starts showing up and won’t go away until she’s insinuated herself into every aspect of his life. But the more he gets to know her, the more of an enigma she becomes. As their relationship intensifies and the unanswered questions begin to pile up, he starts to wonder if he will ever learn the secrets she’s been hiding—or if he even wants to.

The Sea of Tranquility is a rich, intense, and brilliantly imagined story about a lonely boy, an emotionally fragile girl, and the miracle of second chances.


My Rating: 1000 stars.

Do you remember this quote from TFIOS? If you don’t, I’ll write it.

“Sometimes, you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal, and you become convinced that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living humans read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like betrayal.”

And you know what? Don’t read The Sea of Tranquility. I can’t bring myself to tell you something else. This is a betrayal. Because Katja Millay became my personal Peter Van Houten.

Nastya has become a symbol of strength and overcoming difficulties for me. She is such an amazing character! After reading the book, I have for some time ceased to speak. I kinda showed respect for her. Trying to understand her. I can’t say that I got to do it, but I’d feel bad if I didn’t try.

Josh is another example of excellent character. He is not an alpha male. He just Josh. And if you read the book, you’ll understand what I mean. Because Josh is one of my most favorite book characters.

I also very much like the relationship between Nastya and Drew. Their friendship is just wonderful. Reading some of the scenes with them, I always thought of Easy A. That scene where Olive and her gay friend pretended to have sex. It just made me laugh again.

In total, this is a great book that made me laugh and cry at the same time.

But don’t read it.
Now, not even out of my jealousy.
Simply, it can break your heart.
I warned.


Here is my fan-art for this book:

апорпорп

Leave a Reply

