Review: The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

17134589 (1)

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

A fast-paced international escapade, laced with adrenaline, glamour, and romance–perfect for fans of Ally Carter

Avery West’s newfound family can shut down Prada when they want to shop in peace, and can just as easily order a bombing when they want to start a war. Part of a powerful and dangerous secret society called the Circle, they believe Avery is the key to an ancient prophecy. Some want to use her as a pawn. Some want her dead.

To unravel the mystery putting her life in danger, Avery must follow a trail of clues from the monuments of Paris to the back alleys of Istanbul with two boys who work for the Circle—beautiful, volatile Stellan and mysterious, magnetic Jack. But as the clues expose a stunning conspiracy that might plunge the world into World War 3, she discovers that both boys are hiding secrets of their own. Now she will have to choose not only between freedom and family–but between the boy who might help her save the world, and the one she’s falling in love with.


My rating: 5 stars.

“Toska.” He leaned forward, too. “It’s a Russian word. It has no translation into any other language, but the closest I’ve heard is the ache. A longing. The sense that something is missing, and even if you’re not sure what it is, you ache for it. Down to your bones.”

That awkward moment when you know the Russian language…

In general I love books with Russian characters. Not because it’s close to me, it’s just funny to see how people describe them differently. Although I’m a little hate it when people put these stereotypes about vodka and bears. But in this book it was served as a stereotype, and it pleased me.

Okay, I admit, I fell in love with Stellan. This is a very interesting character. And I guessed right about the whole intrigue with him, though it still didn’t spoil the overall picture of mystery.

Yes, I had the mysteries that annotation promised me. It really looks like the Da Vinci Code for teenagers.

Such a family, which Avery has, I wouldn’t wish for the enemy (though… Prada? Masquerades? Okay, it impresses me).

I basically also like Jack, but I have a lot of claims to him, so it prevents me to accept him as part of the love story completely.

And I love Avery, although she didn’t become one of my favorite characters, but overall she’s not quite annoying and nasty person, so I love her at least for that.

I really loved this book and I’m sure that I will reread it many times.

Love triangle not yet available, but an interesting plot and good characters are an integral part of the book, so I strongly recommend it to all fans of such novels.

I’m sorry, I can’t write anything else that wouldn’t be a spoiler.


Here is my fan-art for this book: ji9j9ikoogyhuj

Leave a Reply

