Review: My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga

18336965

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Sixteen-year-old physics nerd Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness.

There’s only one problem: she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. But once she discovers a website with a section called Suicide Partners, Aysel’s convinced she’s found her solution: a teen boy with the username FrozenRobot (aka Roman) who’s haunted by a family tragedy is looking for a partner.

Even though Aysel and Roman have nothing in common, they slowly start to fill in each other’s broken lives. But as their suicide pact becomes more concrete, Aysel begins to question whether she really wants to go through with it. Ultimately, she must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince Roman to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together. Except that Roman may not be so easy to convince.


My rating: All the stars.

“Sometimes I wonder if my heart is like a black hole–it’s so dense that there’s no room for light, but that doesn’t mean it can’t still suck me in.”

How can I properly write a review for this book? This is unreal because I cry all the time, when I think about it.
This book is very deep into my heart. 

“You’re like a grey sky. You’re beautiful, even though you don’t want to be.”

Same thing with this book. It shouldn’t be beautiful, because it is about teenagers who conceived suicide.
But it is. Beautiful in every sense, because it made me think about life and all the things that I used to ignore.

I so much want to thank Jasmine for this book.
Because I understand it.
Because I’m in love with Aysel and Roman. They are broken, but at the same time, strong characters. Even if you have a black hole instead of a heart, you still love them.

I so adore Aysel that I can say with confidence that she is my favorite character. With her black humor, which is sometimes similar to mine and love of physics she has taken a special place in my heart.

I just want to make every person in the world to read this book, so they finally realized that it is impossible to ignore teenage problems. That they are just as serious as any other. And if you notice signs of depression in your child, you can’t ignored them.
Depression is a serious illness such as cancer. Because of this, people die.

Please do everything you can to these people ended their story as well as Aysel and Roman.

And read this book. You fall in love with it, I promise.


Here is my fan-art for this book:

p;oilyjuhtgf

Leave a Reply

