Review: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon (ARC)

18692431

tumblr_mr2qhtTaRQ1qba9pko2_250

Publisher: Delacorte Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: September 1st 2015
Format: eARC

This innovative, heartfelt debut novel tells the story of a girl who’s literally allergic to the outside world. When a new family moves in next door, she begins a complicated romance that challenges everything she’s ever known. The narrative unfolds via vignettes, diary entries, texts, charts, lists, illustrations, and more.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black–black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.


I received a copy in exchange for an honest review.

My rating: 5 golden stars.

I read this book exactly after watching The Fault in Our Stars. So I can say with confidence that this book reminded me of it… or not.
They are similar because the main characters are nerdy teenagers. They are teenagers who have experienced a lot, and I really like their personalities, despite the fact that literature is full of such characters.

Madeleine is an eighteen girl with STID. Her favorite pastime is reading books. Her favorite book is The Little Prince, and I’m ready to adore her only for that. She leads a book blog, but mostly she ripped apart of boredom. But here’s one guy with a family moves into the house next door, and everything changes.

To be honest, I knew the denouement of the book from the beginning, for the simple reason that it is the easiest and most acceptable option, but that did not stop me from enjoying it.

This book is so beautiful. Literally. Those words are exquisite.
And I am pretty sure you will be charmed by its design as I do.
These wonderful pictures I will remember for a long time and by the way, this is one of the most amazing ideas for the book to illustrate it.

I highly recommend this book to all fans of diversity in the literature, because this book is definitely worth your attention.


Here is my fan-art for this book:

jmnhbgvfcxz

Leave a Reply

